Deacon Bill's Blog

"Spreading the Good News, A Couple of Paragraphs at a Time"

The Deacon and Personal Piety

Leave a comment

As an ordained Deacon, sometimes I can be easily distracted when I visit other parishes. Not so long ago, I went to Mass in another diocese and noticed that during the epiclesis and the first elevations, the deacon at the altar crossed his hands across his chest and bowed  as the celebrating priest [placed his hands over the gifts and genuflected.

I approached him after Mass, introduced myself and asked him about it. He responded that he was no longer able to kneel at the consecration (bad knees…. my day is coming) and so he did that instead.

Now I learned long ago not to push too hard on the rubrics (unless so egregious as to need to say something. Fortunately, I have not run into a clown mass or anything like that.) when dealing with clergy from different dioceses. Not knowing what the local Ordinary permits, it is best to just nod and move on.

I know this is not in the rubrics. But I got thinking: is there a place at the altar for a Deacon’s personal actions of piety?

In thinking about it, I realized that for years, I used to strike my breast during the Agnus Dei.  One Sunday about a year back, I though that it might serve as a distraction, and so I stopped doing it.  I’m not sure anyone noticed.

I think this topic might make for an interesting pod cast. To that end I have posted a short questionnaire at the bottom of this post.

I ask that my Catholic Clergy friend might take a minute to let me know your opinion. I will not use your name during any broadcast unless you give me permission to do s.

I am aware of the rubrics, but I’m just wondering….

Author: icelmcreek

Ordained in 2001 and currently serving the parishes of Immaculate Conception, Elm Creek, NE and her missions, Holy Rosary in Overton, NE and St. John Capistran in Amherst, NE.

I'd love to hear what you nthink about this`!

